Juicy: Gobble & the Progression of Columbus Electronic Music

The sets I heard on Saturday at Juicy: Gobble reinforced the dark, ominious, and bass driven aesthetic at the core of our scene, but also featured beautiful progressive build ups and novel track selection from often unheard genres. As a huge fan of variety, spontaneity, and carefully constructed drops, this night of music was really special for me. I found myself screaming at the top of my lungs at numerous points, but not only at the unrelenting bass or screaming synth I am accustomed to be moved by. I also screamed out in appreciation for the risks being taken by each DJ to express who they were through meticulous crate diggin’ and the patience to build a soundscape before they destroyed it with a drop. If Juicy: Gobble was any indication of where we are as a scene, I think we are well on our way to progressing to new heights of artistic creativity through the embracing of new sounds, while still holding down our core aesthetic. To show you where I saw artistry and creativity oozing out of the sets, let me run down some highlights from each dj’s set.

Kingpin:

Kingpin held down the 10 pm slot like a boss. He told me that he would be coming with some new, innovative sounds for Columbus to sample. I wasn’t disappointed. He built a set that progressed from gentle, soothing moombahsoul to frantic, funky techno. Now you all know I got a soft spot for the king, but I don’t mince words when I say that his set sent me to the next level. He played some favorites of mine, while also taking me to places in electronic music that I didn’t know existed for our Columbus Scene. I wanted to highlight some of the key moments that made Kingpin’s set special to me.

1.) Simon Iddol — I can’t stop you better (Amanda Blank VS Lindstrom & Christabelle + Aeroplane) 

Pay close attention to the weirdness that erupts at the 2 minute mark as a progressive, spaced out beat starts to overtake the house beat. This reminded me so much of a Pink Floyd jam when I heard this live. Especially, the last thirty seconds. COMON!! This section is crazy and when I walked into Circus on saturday I never thought I would be taken there. Yet, the King always has tricks up his sleeve. Thats why I always religiously end up at the club right when his set starts.

2.) Bingo Players-Cry (Kids at The Bar Bootleg)

I love the merging of the melodic elements of the original with the gritty intensity of the Kids at The Bar reworks. It sure is a banger, but one that plays with so many different styles of electro. I can feel a funky disco house beat wanting to come out from the edges.

Kingpin placed these tracks beautifully into his dynamic set that slowly progressed in intensity throughout the hour, as bodies slowly poured in and were overtaken by his rhythms. He took chances the entire night, and we were rewarded by getting a glimpse into realms of electronic music we don’t often hear in Columbus.

Egotronic:

I knew from the moment I saw Egotronic that he was going to come hard and never relinquish his control over the trashy, industrial sound he reigns over. Never for a moment stopping to let up, Egotronic unleashed a barrage of dark, metal electronic that reaffirmed my passion for electronic music. He reminded me of how important going to shows is for not only opening one’s mind to different sounds, but for creating community. We all danced to the pulsing beat of the industrial techno Egotronic spun for us. Despite every barrier that may have separated us outside of Circus, Egotronic united us through Patient Zero’s rework of The Silent H!’s ‘Megatron’ 

Once he built us up, Egotronic drove us insane with rising Italian artist Silvijo Zylfi’s rework of Cyberpunkers epic track “Fuck the System”. I know that this track really spoke to the power I felt in that crowd to buck convention and do whatever it was

I felt expressed who I was at that moment. It helped me push beyond limitations and find that degree of autonomy I always seek in life. Pushing beyond those limitations, a whole world of beauty was opened to me once Ginsu took the decks over.

Ginsu: No Cuts No Glory & Push Productions

Ginsu’s whole set represented one giant progression, as Kingpin’s did. This progression took us from from the soothing beauty of progressive house, through electro house bangers, and finished us off with punishing dubstep drops. I especially loved his progressive house section, as it took me far away from the dark surrounds of Columbus and shows me the possibilities of optimism and light. This light, airy sound was exceptionally captured by the track “The Magic Conch” by artist Dr. Trout in the beginning section of Ginsu’s set. Check it right here to relive that moment:

Yet, the highlight of Ginsu’s set for me was in the dubstep portion of his set where his on point track selection and sixth deck sense had him drop Flux Pavilion’s “I Can’t Stop” & Alvin Risk’s Remix of Ali Love’s “Diminishing Returns” in close succession:

I was left decimated by this choice track selection. Now these two tracks are not rare in any way, but pairing them close together makes for utter anarchy on the dance floor in any Columbus Club. We love our dark bass. It was during this section that I experienced the most unbridled energy of the evening, as I gave my way over to the pulsing bass and let myself channel its energy. This was only the beginning of the bass, as Magua took over the decks.

Magua:

The main event of the evening held down the 1 am time slot in amazing form. He spun unrelenting dubstep and electro house that got the room going nuts. To me, he really channeled Columbus’ core electronic aesthetic in his creation of a dark, demonic vibe in the room. Yet, he built on this aesthetic by carving out his own niche with his choice track selection and seemless weaving of electronic house and dubstep throughout his set. No where were both of these distinctive qualities more apparent than in Magua’s dropping of these two tracks below.

1.) Helicopter Showdown & Calverton –Drop It Again

I was really shocked by this track. I was taken aback by the presence of the Caribbean dancehall rhythms that started the dubstep genre so long ago. Besides this, the melodic buildups in this track really captured my musical imagination and showed me some some awesome sonic capabilities in the dubstep genre I didn’t know existed.

2.) Dada Life — Happy Violence (Vocal Edit)

This is completely guilty pleasure. I am a big Dada Life fan, and when this track dropped I went ape. The hard and pulsing bass is only taken to the next level with the vocals laid over the top of the swirling progression of the track. Big Ups to Magua for playing this huge international hit. The happy violence this track did to the main room at Circus felt so right.

Magua brought the party home and ended another successful ALL LOCAL columbus electronic music event. As I walked out of Circus one thought resonated with me above all. We don’t go to shows to be noticed. We don’t spin records to get famous. We come together to support one another, enjoy the music, and build a community. Positivity and collaboration above all! As put by the cats at OHIO STAND UP, “Its the Columbus Way”.

.

.

“Like” Local Autonomy on Facebook to get all future updates on Columbus show reviews, show starter kits, and local music production analysis.

Leave a Reply

