A Closer Look: Dunjinz

You thought dunjinz week was over? NO WAY! You thought we would stop with an exclusive mix and Track That Started It All feature? YOU GOTTA BE KIDDING! We end Dunjinz week with an interview that offers a closer look into the background and views of one of the rising stars of our scene with an exclusive interview.

LA: How did you get into EDM music and our scene?
D: My first love was hip hop, but then I got into metal, DNB, folk, pop / emo, then electro trash, then techno. I kind of jump around a lot and absorb as much as possible. I attribute the introduction to the public scene and dance parties to roeVy.

LA: What is it about the music and spinning that keeps you coming back? What does the act of DJ’in mean to you? How does it make you feel?
D: To be honest, Djing is incredible and fun but is nothing compared to production (in my opinion). Djing is the reward after you have slaved over the perfect track for months. You play it and when people go wild it is the most surreal feeling ever.

LA: How did you get your start DJ’in?
D: I was fortunate enough to get the chance to pass a mix-tape along to some very influential DJ’s in the Columbus scene. Then I ended up playing Le Boom in march, almost immediately after my daughter was born. So intense.

LA: Do you remember the first set you ever spun? What was it like?
D: March 2011 Le Boom. It was terrifying, but went off well and I gained a nice buzz from that point.

LA: When did you start working on the production end? How did you start building tracks?
D: I have been producing since I was 17, but it was hip hop for a solid 4 – 5 years. Then I decided to go towards dance music.

LA: You have been putting out tracks at a prolific rate. What is it about producing that you love? How do you keep innovating and pumping out new tracks?
D: I just make what I like or what feels right. My last project, I tried to fit a certain prescriptive format. I love the creative process. Its peaceful, but it also gets me amped!

LA: Who are your biggest artistic influences? Where do you draw inspiration from?
D: They fluctuate monthly. Currently Modek & Shamboy are huge influences. I also listen to a lot of Style of Eye, Worthy & Bok Bok.

LA: You have gotten a lot of positive feedback from European labels and artists. What is it like to have your tracks listened to all over the world?
D: Incredible & Unexpected. When you send out your first promo, you never expect such a good response. Albion got some really quick support from Germany (BIG UP WAZABI & FAT & UGLY!).

LA: Your recent releases have all been picked up by labels, but you said your most recent batch of remixes and originals sounds distinctly different. What sounds have you been exploring in your new work and what has influenced you to take a risk on a new sound?
D: I have been experimenting with less distorted bass and more percussion heavy elements. Still have much to learn, but my newer originals will be closer to the remixes I did for Volta or Scntst.

LA: You recently said: “There is really no point in shaping your own sound. Usually by the time you have perfected it, it is outdated. So work quick and efficiently and just make tunes that you want to hear. Who cares what it sounds like.” What does this mean for your creative process in producing?
D: It means I will never ask if the track I am making fits the “Dunjinz” sound. I want Dunjinz to evolve with my musical taste, unlike my last project.

LA: Do you think its hard or even possible to create a distinctive sound today in the age of soundcloud, music blogs, and file sharing?
D: Not totally. An artist can have distinctive elements, but the total project can be dissected down to its basic influences. I think we miss out on a lot of music because people are worried that what they are making isn’t original enough. Which makes me a sad Dunjin.

LA: What role has social media played in your ascendency as a producer & DJ?
D: Huge. I was never really a fan of twitter or facebook until I started Djing. It is a must, if you want to gain any sort of following, though. Soundcloud is also a necessity for producers everywhere, it has become an industry standard, replacing myspace music pages.

LA: What are your goals as a producer and DJ? Where do you see yourself in five years?
D: I will always make production my main focus, but as a DJ I hope to set foot on some international soil (2012???). In 5 years, I will probably be writing children’s instructional dance tracks.

LA:Where do you think our scene is right now? How do you think our scene has changed over the last couple years?
D: Columbus has blown up! We get some of the largest National / International acts. We should start focusing on some up and coming international acts though.

LA: What would you deem the ideal future for the Columbus EDM community? What role do you wanna play in bringing about that future?
D: I would like to see parties that are more all genre encompassing. A little less dubstep centered. I think its happening slowly. I plan on being America’s Techno Wonder Boy, so hopefully that helps out Columbus a lot :/ .

LA: Do you think it is possibile for us to create one cohesive Columbus EDM community?
D: Yeah, it’s nearly utopian now. Most in the scene are friendly (in my personal experience) and enjoy partying with each other and having a good time.

You want more dunjinz? Like him on his Facebook for all his updates and choice track selections and stream some tracks on his soundcloud.
Leave a Reply

